Ripples

Ripple effect on water.

Ripple effect on water. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A few years ago at my Thursday ladies Bible study group, we were discussing making a difference in people’s lives.  We talked about how hard it is to know if that is happening or not.  We talked about one day in Heaven meeting those we’ve impacted by even just the smallest thing we might not even be aware of.  We talked about the ripples we can help create.  Someday we will see how He has used us, if we are willing to be used.

One of the girls recalled some words she had heard that resonated with me.  They were something along these lines:

You never know what you may say to someone that may be repeated to their children, or grandchildren which will ultimately lead to that person coming to know Christ.

It struck me.  The things we say and do can have generational impact.

I will pray that Jesus will use me; I pray that He will put the right words in my mouth.  However, I confess, I can get caught up in today’s society of instant gratification.   For the most part, I like to think I’m patient, but there are sometimes when I want to see the results of things without waiting.

When I think, or sense a ripple, I have been consciously making an effort to be thankful for being part of the ripple and letting it go.  It isn’t always easy.  My mind wants to hit replay and think what I could have said or done differently.    Notice how quick the mind wants to go back to the “I”?  Notice how whisper thoughts of pride can so easily turn into a sticky woven tangled web of self importance?

Sigh.

In the quiet moments, God speaks.  If a prayer of ‘help me Jesus’ is offered before any words are uttered, than I need not worry.   What is being said is what is needed at the time.  Seeds are being planted.  He will water them.  He will make them grow.

In the past four weeks, we have been blessed to have our granddaughter visit us.  We had conversations with her about the gospel, does she or can she know for sure if she is going to Heaven?  What does it mean about being saved by grace not by works.  From the first meal we ate together we prayed before we ate so she got into the habit of us doing that together, and when I flew home with her she reminded the family at dinner before we ate we needed to pray.  She had a friend over one evening who said:  “I never had anybody do that before, that was awesome.”

Right before I flew home, there were 10 of us (mostly adults) that went to a restaurant for lunch.  It was a noisy crowed restaurant and I hesitated suggesting a prayer before the meal, I was thinking they are adults, if they want to pray before they eat, they can silently pray to themselves.

Sigh.

Granddaughter said to those who received their food first and were starting to pick at it, “you can’t eat yet, we haven’t prayed”.

Out of the mouths of children.

So we held hands, and humbled, I prayed our thanks.

I also prayed a silent repentant & thankful prayer.

How quick I forget, how thankful I am to be forgiven, and how thankful I am Jesus is always drawing me closer to Him.

 How thankful I am to see the ripple effect.

On me.

4 thoughts on “Ripples

  1. Ripples spread for many miles…how wonderful to see that you are back in action. I know the feeling about lack of posting regularly..there are more important things in life and sometimes I think that blogging can easily become , your life,…so it is good to havd a rest and regather your priorities..love you loads, and may God Be with You always

    • I’ll still be pretty sporadic for a while. We haven’t moved into our new place yet, and when we do I probably won’t have internet right away. We were supposed to have settlement this week, but so far that hasn’t happened. We’ll see. Love right back at ya! 🙂

Leave a Reply

