Fear

Some people write their blogs and have the confidence to push the blue publish button without fear.

Some don’t.

Too often, I fall into the second group.  That is probably why I write in my journal more than I write here on my blog.

Fear of rejection.  Fear of ridicule.  Fear of my own failings.

Well, I’ve been thinking about fear.

It isn’t only in writing that fear rears it’s ugly head in my life.  I really don’t like writing that.  I like to think that I am a strong person.  Writing that sentence makes me feel weak.

I’ve thought about all the different areas that fear has influenced/influences me over the course of my life.

I’ve been a people pleaser, I’ve feared confrontation, I’ve feared ridicule for what I believe in and who I am.  I’ve feared getting hurt.  Fear of the unknown, I like a plan.

Some of those fears come back to haunt me now and then.  Sigh.

That is when I try to remind/question myself, ‘what is  at the root of my particular fear’?

When I get through the layers, and face it, for me it is a lack of trust.

I’m not trusting Him.

We’ve been walking through the book of Exodus on Sunday mornings at Sandhills Community Church.  (Podcasts are available on their webpage).

I am being reminded that we/I am like the Israelites.  They too had trouble with fear.  They too had trouble with trust.

Over and over God took the Israelites, or us  to dilemmas that they, or us  don’t know the answers for to see if we will call out to Him to provide.   For me it has been in areas of family relationships, health, finances and jobs.  Some of those He repeated, I obviously needed to learn something.   As He said to the Israelites, He is saying to me:  “Do you trust Me?”

As the Israelites were afraid of the unknown then, so am I at times.

Are you facing any fears/Egyptians today?  If so, I’d like to encourage you to try what has helped me.

Recognize the fear, give it to Jesus and then you will find you are no longer afraid.  Is it always easy?  No.  Is it worth it.  Yes!  Too often it is after the dilemma that we look back and see the blessing.  That is one thing I have noticed in reading my journal.  You can go back and see the blessings.  So I would encourage you to trust, be still, so you don’t miss it.  Blessings to you gentle reader!  No fear for that “blue publish button!”  🙂

“Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid.  Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring today.  The Egyptians you see today you will never see again.  The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”  Exodus 14:13-14

“Be still, and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46: 10

“The LORD Almighty is with us; the God of Jacob is our fortress.”  Psalm 46:11

8 thoughts on “Fear

  1. I’m always so amazed when someone’s so brave, sharing their personal thoughts. Fear has been the predominant motivator for me all my life. I’ve always pictured the bad outcome and chosen the best route from there. What a cruddy way to grow up. Where was my faith all those years? Even when I would make good decisions, they often lead down bad roads… So, to your post- I celebrate your faith and your belief that fear can be replaced with hope, love and trust.
    Thanks for hitting “publish!”

    • Oh, but Sue, in some areas in life, I have felt so brave, but in others, so hesitant to act, speak or I worry about things because of fears or a lack of trust. I seem to constantly be reminded. I obviously am a slow learner. Hopefully, I am getting better at “capturing” those thoughts when they first appear and handing them over so I don’t need so many reminders! 🙂 Thanks for your kind words, remember, love covers all.

  2. My beautiful beautiful friend…fear no more..
    remember this:
    FEAR knocked at the door
    FAITH opened it…and there was no-one there….

    all you need if Faith and Fear cannot hurt you….I will pray for you and I know that He will be by your side always

    love P xxxx

    • We had a lot of wind here, some rain. Our family higher north experienced more of the force of the storm. Thankfully, they only had to deal with power outages for a short time, and they are okay. Thanks for asking!

  3. Oh, fearful one. If you can stalk and squash a spider (as you mentioned in your comment to me), you can push the publish button!

Leave a Reply

