What’s driving you nuts right now?

Okay, new topic….WOW…topic guy….this could get a person in some serious trouble.

So I looked at all the people in my life, and I mean ALL and these are the areas that are driving me nuts right now listed in no particular order:

….  Sigh   ….

Did you really think I was going to list them??

To be honest, I started too.  Came up with a list of about three or four, okay twelve things, and then I stopped.  How far did I want to take this exercise?

When I looked at the list closely, I could put my name beside each one with a big fat GUILTY.

On Wednesday evenings there is a group of us that are studying Really Bad Girls of the Bible by Liz Curtis Higgs.  (Last time we studied Slightly Bad Girls, we’ve moved on up to the really bad ones – haha).  Anyway, this is now the third time that I have read this book, and next week we will be discussing the adulteress that was dragged before Jesus.  I talked little about this account in the Bible here.

But, back to a point, that I was intending to make….I know, I get there eventually…Liz mentions these Seven Deadly sins, a spiritual accounting that doesn’t appear in Scripture as such but has been around at least since 600 A.D. give or take.  In their traditional order, those seven killer crimes are:

  1. Pride
  2. Greed
  3. Envy
  4. Anger
  5. Lust
  6. Gluttony
  7. Sloth

Well, like she said, on any given day-in any given hour-I’ve seen every one of these sins at work in my flesh.  Ouch! times seven.

For example, when things seem to be going so well for people, I’m happy for them, but then, I think, ‘I could do that’, (my pride), then my greed says “gee, that could come in handy right now”, then I can get frustrated (angry) and it doesn’t take long to just travel down that list of sins.

“If we claim to be without sin, we deceive ourselves and the truth is not in us.”  1 John 1:8

“If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  1 John 1:9

So when things feel like they are driving me nuts, I need to look at myself, and listen.  I’m up there at the top of my own list.

“Psalm 103:12 as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.”

Once confessed, I’m a free woman again.  The Lord is more interested in our future than our past.  Yeah!  Move forward!

Hey, thanks to everyone for following, commenting and “liking” my blog posts.  Your encouragement  is appreciated!

 

One thought on “What’s driving you nuts right now?

  1. I love reading your writings, they are so full of heart, kindness and caring for others.

    Might I suggest that you do not worry about the 7 sins. The Lord is guiding you always, He never strays. He knows what sort of person you are as He made you. So trust in the Lord and you will not go wrong

Leave a Reply

