How do you define a friend?

So I’m doing this “Post A Week” challenge, and they send me suggested topics.  Well I got one this past week…”How do you define a friend?”

Well, I thought…okay, I like that topic, I can write about that.  I’ve been blessed with friends in my life that even though we have moved various times, I can contact and it seems like we are able to pick right back up.  I could write about that, or I could write about my dear friend of the past 17 years.  (Wow, I didn’t realize it has been that long until I actually figured it out)

But, then I started doing other things, and well, I just didn’t get around to writing anything.

One thing that I’ve learned while reading the Bible is that when the Lord wants to emphasize something He will repeat it three times.

That came to mind this morning after waking up from a night of three different dreams involving the same friend.  I mean I woke up at least three times last night and when I went back to sleep one particular friend was in each dream.

Now, I have some different dreams.  They don’t always make sense to everyone else (just ask my husband about the starfish on the ceiling).  They are however, always in color, always very vivid, and usually always make perfect sense to me at the time that I am having them.

I’m not going to go into the details about my dreams, I’ll save that for my friend.  I will say though that the dreams covered girlfriend sharing, family and past co-workers.

That pretty much describes our 17 year bond.  We are kinda like a three-legged stool.  We’ve been wobbly at times.  Sometimes on one leg or another.  But, the seat has been glued on by God.  He put us together.   Whenever we sit, He is with us.

Three dreams.  I know God has placed this person in my life for a reason.  I always known it.  Bless her.

How do I define a friend?  A person chosen by God to help you become the person He wants you to be.   What a gift it is when you recognize it and can thank him for it!

Thank you Jesus for the friends you have placed in my life!

4 thoughts on “How do you define a friend?

  1. Okay- now you’re telling our age. 🙂 BTW…It is both. The word “buck” or “buff” is thought to be from the color of a buckskin, which is the pale tan color of European skin – this gives you “buck naked” and “in the buff.” “Butt naked” refers to the fact that your buttocks are not covered.” Love you my friend!

  2. It is good to have a friend but your greatest friend is of course Jesus. What would we do without His friendship? Not a lot.

    It is a blessing to have good friends, my dearest friend Carol I have known for 42 years. We do not meet often as I am in Bulgaria and she is in the UK but when we do meet it is just like yesterday.

    God Bless you both

Leave a Reply

